Posted on

July 9, 2012: Steak Night!

Where’s the beef?

Last week I had bought a huge chunk of sirloin steak (probably enough to last me for quite a while), and tonight was finally a chance to cook (some) of it! Now ideally, I would have used a frying pan, but I suppose I’m embracing the line of one pot wonders, and proceeded to cook the steak in a pot.

Cooking those giant chunks of meat!

The first thing I did was take half of my cut and cut it into four smaller pieces of meat. I just seasoned them with some salt and pepper, put a bit of oil in the pot, heated it up, and add the meat. After a while, they had a nice dark sear on them. Though I thought it was a bit dark when I first flipped it over, it turned out alright because it cooked and soaked in some of the juices. But anyways, the intention was to cook them on high heat to sear in the juices, then finish them at a lower temperature. Which for the most part, worked out.

Red peppers and onions

Potatoes and zucchini

While that was cooking, I prepared my vegetables. I had two gold potatoes which I proceeded to pre-cook in the microwave. I cut up most of the rest of my onion, a red bell pepper, a couple of mushrooms, and a zucchini.

Steak is done! (Perhaps not the best image…)

Cooking all the vegetables

The beef took a while to cook, but it looked good when it was done! After a quick clean of the pot, I added some oil, and threw in the onion and peppers to start cooking and caramelize. Shortly after that, I added the zucchini and mushrooms, and last, the potatoes. In hindsight, I should have put the potatoes in earlier; I thought they were closer to completion than they were. It seemed like a lot of vegetables; I was mixing it all with a spoon – it felt like cooking for a family! At least there’s enough for leftovers. After it seemed that it was almost done, I added in some balsamic dressing to add some flavor to the mixture.

Vegetables more fully cooked, with balsamic dressing

Steak, veggies, and potatoes

After mixing that in, I took it off the stove, and plated. Besides the potatoes not being 100% cooked, it was a great dinner! I ate the thinner pieces of meat; I’ll microwave the thicker pieces to completion when I eat the leftovers. I kind of wish that I could have made some type of sauce, but it was nice to taste the beef without the extra additions too! And now I’ve got plenty of food for leftovers!

Plated meal!

 

One response to “July 9, 2012: Steak Night!

  1. Pingback: July 27, 2012: Steak Round 2, Time Battle! « Collegetown Bites

Leave a Reply

